© 2024 WNIJ and WNIU
Northern Public Radio
801 N 1st St.
DeKalb, IL 60115
Northern Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

DeKalb City Clerk Responds To Call For Resignation

Peter Medlin

Lynn Fazekas is speaking out after Mayor Jerry Smith asked her to step aside from her role as Clerk of the City of DeKalb.

According to an email sent to media outlets including WNIJ, Fazekas said she was asked to resign on Monday night. Fazekas said she refused.

"The action followed a Council closed session that excluded me," Fazekas said. "The mayor did say resignation would save me from public embarrassment, but he gave no details so I also haven't a clue what he is trying to save me from."

Fazekas said in the dismissal request, Smith cited recent conflict between the clerk’s office and the city manager’s office over use of the city seal.

The Daily Chronicle reportsSmith said the executive session held at the end of Monday’s regular council meeting was to discuss complaints made by city employees about the conduct and performance of Fazekas and specifically the use of the city seal used to authorize documents.

Fazekas also noted the high turnover in the city clerk's office since 2012, listing the names of seven other people who have held the office since then.

The DeKalb position is a four-year term.

"My fervent hope in refusing the request to resign is that this changes the dynamic of the disposable clerk, and sets us to fixing what actually needs fixing," Fazekas said in her email statement. "But whether it does or not, I have sworn an oath to do my best, and intend to finish my term of office."

Jenna Dooley has spent her professional career in public radio. She is a graduate of Northern Illinois University and the Public Affairs Reporting Program at the University of Illinois - Springfield. She returned to Northern Public Radio in DeKalb after several years hosting Morning Edition at WUIS-FM in Springfield. She is a former "Newsfinder of the Year" from the Illinois Associated Press and recipient of NIU's Donald R. Grubb Journalism Alumni Award. She is an active member of the Illinois News Broadcasters Association and an adjunct instructor at NIU.