© 2022 WNIJ and WNIU
Northern Public Radio
801 N 1st St.
DeKalb, IL 60115
Northern Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Thursday at 7 p.m. & Saturday at 12 p.m.Sessions from Studio A is a local program dedicated to showcasing regional and touring musicians, featuring performances recorded in WNIJ's own Studio A in DeKalb and hosted by Spencer Tritt.The program presents genres of music ranging from folk to indie rock, blues, alternative country, Americana, world music and more, in a way that provides the listener with a live concert experience. These performances are accompanied by interviews with the artists who discuss their inspirations, aspirations, and the stories behind their original songs.Have a band you'd like to hear on Sessions from Studio A? Send us your suggestions: sessions@niu.edu

Sessions from Studio A - Blueshift Big Band

We start off another year of Sessions from Studio A with a bang this week. Join us for a live performance from Chicago's Blueshift Big Band with a mix of originals and standards. We'll also hear two unique worlds collide with their big band renditions of classic video game soundtracks. Special thanks to band leaders Joel Baer and Chris Parsons for making this week's show become a reality.

Check out some behind the scenes video below, including some that we didn't have time for on this week's show. Find more from Blueshift Big Band on their Facebook and Instagram pages.

Blueshift Big Band performing "Castle Theme" (Super Mario World) live in WNIJ's Studio A

Blueshift Big Band performing "Samba Para Gretchen" live in WNIJ's Studio A

Blueshift Big Band performing "For Wes" live in WNIJ's Studio A

Blueshift Big Band performing "Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Suite" live in WNIJ's Studio A

Blueshift Big Band performing "Curse of an Aching Heart" live in WNIJ's Studio A

The full list of band members on this week's show:

Joel Baer - Drums / Co-Leader
Chris Parsons - Guitar / Co-Leader

Dan Parker - Bass
Austyn Menk - Piano

Neil Carson
Artrell Leflore
Gerald Martinez
Travis Mills
Roy McGrath

Josh Torrey
Michael Nearpass
Grant Dawson
Dan DiCesare

Chuck Parrish
Andrew Egizio
Matt Schiess
Sam Wolsk

Related Stories