© 2021 WNIJ and WNIU
Northern Public Radio
801 N 1st St.
DeKalb, IL 60115
Northern Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Eight GOP Candidates Withdraw From Roscoe Township Races


Eight candidates running for various positions in Roscoe Township dropped out of the race.  

The candidates, all Republicans, made an identical mistake on their paperwork.   Specifically, the documents didn't  describe the type of election or dates of voting.  The paperwork was also filed by the township clerk rather than the Republican caucus chairman.  

The Rockford Register-Star reports Citizens for a Clean Slate for Roscoe Township pointed out the mistakes.  Members of the group are Republican, but its eight candidates will run as independents because they don't have the backing of the caucus.  

The withdrawing Republicans are township supervisor candidate Steve Connell; Highway Commissioner Matthew Servant; assessor candidate Cynthia Servant; Clerk Patricia Zintak, trustees Tom Hawes and Todd Piper and trustee candidates Thomas Jack and Jesse Garcia.

The Clean Slate candidates consist of Township Supervisor Jim Benkovich, Trustee Pat Henderson, highway commissioner candidate Steve Schreier, clerk candidate Rhonda Surratt and trustee candidates Dawn Cassady, David D'Aloia, Terri Michelsen and Kelly Cosgriff.