Director Of NCIS Among Honorees At NIU's 2018 Alumni Awards

Mar 23, 2018

Northern Illinois University gave out its 2018 Alumni Awards on Friday.  The ceremony recognized eight alumni who’ve distinguished themselves in areas such as public service and the sciences, as well as giving back to the school in some form. The most prestigious award is Distinguished Alumni, which goes to an alumnus with outstanding professional success or recognition. Other awards honor achievements in public service, science, and the arts, as well as the work of young alumni (under 40 years old). 

The honorees are as follows:

Distinguished Alumnus: Andrew Traver (B.A. Sociology, 1985) is the current director of the Naval Criminal Investigative Service, a federal law enforcement agency that deals with crimes involving the Navy and Marine Corps. 

Achievement In Public Service: James F. McCluskey (J.D. 1979) is a founding member of the law firm Momkus McCluskey LLC and will soon be sworn in as the president of the Illinois State Bar Association.

Achievement In The Arts: Joe Minoso (M.F.A. Theatre Arts, 2004) is a leading actor in the television series 'Chicago Fire.' 

Achievement In The Sciences: Marilyn Stromborg (B.S Biological Sciences, 1964; Ed.D. Educational Psychology, 1974; J.D. 1994) is a retired Chair of the NIU School of Nursing, former DeKalb County Assistant State's Attorney, and a coordinator in the DeKalb County Drug and DUI Court. 

Achievement In Business And Industry: Harlan Teller (B.A. English, 1973) is the Executive Director of APCO Worldwide, a corporate public relations firm.  He also was Interim Vice President of NIU's Division of Enrollment Management, Marketing and Communications. 

Outstanding Young Alumni Award: Erek Benz (B.S. Marketing, 2008) and Michael DeGiorgio (B.S. Marketing, 2010) are co-founders of Commercial Real Estate Exchange Inc, an online real estate marketplace.

F.R. Geigle Service Award: Lynne Waldeland isn't an NIU alumna, but is a Professor Emeritus of English, former Interim Executive VP and Provost, and Former Assistant Provost of Academic Development and Planning.