© 2024 WNIJ and WNIU
Northern Public Radio
801 N 1st St.
DeKalb, IL 60115
Northern Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

11 Counties Declared Federal Flood Disasters

Eleven Illinois counties were declared federal disaster areas Friday evening, paving the way for people and businesses to get more help with flood recovery efforts. President Obama approved Governor Pat Quinn’s request for federal help in the aftermath of mid-April flooding.

Credit Susan Stephens / WNIJ
Workers move enormous rocks into place to repair the damage caused along the Illinois River by the April floods.

Flood victims in the following counties can apply for grants and loans to help in the recovery: DeKalb, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, LaSalle, McHenry, Lake, Fulton, Grundy, Cook, and Will counties.

According to the state’s damage assessment, 41 homes were destroyed and 761 suffered major damage. Thousands more were damaged. Under the federal disaster declaration, people may be able to get grants to help cover temporary housing, home repairs, home replacement, and other flood-related expenses. People and businesses may qualify for low interest loans as well. There’s more information, including on-line applications, at www.disasterassistance.gov

Susan is an award-winning reporter/writer at her favorite radio station. She's also WNIJ's Perspectives editor, Under Rocks contributor, and local host of All Things Considered.
Related Stories