© 2024 WNIJ and WNIU
Northern Public Radio
801 N 1st St.
DeKalb, IL 60115
Northern Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
815 < 5 is a pair of podcasts bringing you the latest news and events in and around the 8-1-5 area code in less than five minutes! It was produced by students at Northern Illinois University's Journalism 302 News Reporting course during the Spring semester. In May 2022, 815<5 received 1st Place in the Outstanding Radio Newscast category from the Illinois News Broadcasters Association's statewide student awards.

DeKalb County This Week: Winter weather slams Illinois, governor issues disaster declaration

National Weather Service

The COVID-19 positivity rate for DeKalb County is at 17.3%, with 10 additional deaths in the latest report.

In other news, winter weather coated major roads and interstates across Illinois this week, including several inches of snow in DeKalb County. The Illinois Department of Transportation says cleanup efforts could last several days. Numerous crashes and incidents of vehicles leaving the road occurred across the state. You can find emergency road closures at idot.illinois.gov.

Meanwhile, Governor J.B. Pritzker issued a disaster declaration and activated approximately 130 members of the Illinois National Guard to ensure all state resources are available to deal with the extreme weather.


The Somonauk High School varsity boys basketball team beat Clifton Central 69 to 42 in last Saturday’s game, giving Somonauk a record of 19 and 5 for the whole season.

Sandwich High School’s varsity girls basketball team is set to play against Somonauk at Somonauk High School on Friday night.

The Indian Creek High School Timberwolves girls varsity basketball team lost to Earlville 47 to 43, but the girls sophomore team beat Earlville 11 to 6. The Indian Creek high school girls sophomore and varsity basketball teams are set to face off against the Lisle Lions at Lisle high school on Saturday.

Contributions by Brandon Montemayor, Nanette Nkolomoni, Madelaine Vikse, and Allyson White