© 2023 WNIJ and WNIU
Northern Public Radio
801 N 1st St.
DeKalb, IL 60115
Northern Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
WNIJ and NPR offer special coverage of Election 2016. WNIJ News field reporters and NPR editors nationwide update election news all night.Links to Race ResultsFollow the NPR Live Election BlogLocal County-By-County Election Results

Just One Democratic Primary Among Area Legislative Races

Most races in Tuesday’s primaries for the Illinois General Assembly have been fully tabulated, but some that involve McHenrty County are still incomplete.

Only one State Senate primary affects the WNIJ listening area directly, and all the returns still had not been filed as of late this morning. A three-way Republican race in the 26th Senate District shows Dan McConchie with just under 36% of the vote, Casey Urlacher in second place with a little less than 34%, and Martin McLaughlin with just over 30%.

The Northwest Herald reported that McHenry County mail-in and provisional ballots were still being counted. All districts in Cook, Kane and Lake counties had reported.

There are six area primaries for Illinois House seats – all but one of them Republican contests.

In the 63rd House District in McHenry County, fewer than 44% of the precincts had reported as of late this morning, but Steven Reick was carrying nearly 59% of the vote against Jeffery Lichte in the race to challenge incumbent Democrat Jack Franks.

In the 66th House District in McHenry and Kane Counties, not quite 82% of the precincts were counted, with Allen Skillicorn leading the four-person GOP race at 34.4%. Dan Willbrandt and Carolyn Schofield were more than six points behind, and Paul Serwatka was barely over 10%. The winner will face Democrat Nancy Zettler, who had no primary opponent, in November.

The lone Democratic Party primary in this group is in the 72nd House District, which stretches southwest from the Quad Cities. Michael Halpin finished atop the four-person field with 38.6% of the vote. Jeffrey Jacobs came in second, followed by Katelyn Hotle and Glen Evans. Of the GOP ticket, Brandi McGuire won 58.6% of the vote to defeat Jordan Thoms. Halpin and McGuire will face off in the fall general election.

The 74th House District -- with pieces of Lee, Knox and Henry Counties – had only a Republican primary, where Daniel Swanson captured 49.1% of the vote, followed by Michael DeSutter at 34.5% and Wayne Saline at 16.4%. Swanson will face Democrat Bill Butts in November.

In the 76th House District, which centers on LaSalle, Jerry Long won the Republican primary with 62.3% of the vote over Jacob Bramel, who won 37.7%. Long challenges Democrat Andy Skoog, who was appointed to the seat last year.