© 2024 WNIJ and WNIU
Northern Public Radio
801 N 1st St.
DeKalb, IL 60115
Northern Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
We're aware of an issue affecting our website's stream for iOS 17.4 users. We're working on a fix and will provide an update soon. In the meantime, please use our mobile app or tell your smart speaker to play WNIJ. Thank you for your patience.

Freeport Mayor Gaulrapp Defeated


A Difficult Day For Incumbents ...

Incumbent Freeport Mayor George Gaulrapp lost his seat Tuesday in a Citizens Party primary contest with former Mayor Jim Gitz. With 100% of precincts reporting, Gitz had 1,130 votes to 896 for Gaulrapp.

In the Peoples Party contest, Jon Staben, with 215 votes, defeated Bettye Corbin, with140 votes.

It was not a good night for Democratic incumbents in the Rockford Aldermanic primaries.

Ward 6 incumbent Lenny Jacobson (31 votes) lost to Vernon Hilton (35 votes) and Ward 8 incumbent Nancy Johnson (48 votes) was trounced by Jeanne Oddo (184 votes).

Ward 11 incumbent Karen Elyea (106 votes) defeated Tuffy Quinonez (89 votes) and Dyanna Chandler (12 votes).

On the Republican side, Ward 1 incumbent Tim Durkee (217 votes) bested Brian Leggero (120 votes). In Ward 2, Jamie Getchius (124 votes) handily defeated Stan Smith (25 votes), and Kevin Frost (489 votes) topped Peter Scordato (226 votes).

In Freeport Township, incumbent Supervisor Sheila Hooper, with 786 votes, bested challengers John Cook (778 votes) and Edward Dennis Mulligan (391 votes) for the Citizens Party nomination.

Incumbent trustees Alan D. Turner (567 votes) and Mickey R. Martin (with 605 votes) were joined by Joy M. Sellers (581 votes) and Kathleen M. Altensey (580 votes) in winning the four nominations. and Incumbent Corrine Bruce got 482 votes, and Mary Ann Eirhart received 446 votes.

Boone County hosted a handful of Republican primaries.

Incumbent Belvidere City Clerk Shauna D. Arco (603 votes) defeated Joanne “Josie” Riley (300 votes) for the party nod.

In Belvidere Township, Republican contenders include:

  • Incumbent Supervisor Patrick J. Murphy (721 votes) topped Les Reid (566 votes)
  • Incumbent Highway Commissioner Richard Lee (737 votes) defeated Kenneth W. McBee (512 votes)
  • Incumbent trustees Robert E. Turner (866 votes) and Bill J. Robertson (839 votes), joined by Kathy L. Grover (758 votes) and Richard H. Nelson (789 votes) won the four spots on the April ballot. Catherine Ward had 745 votes.

Two townships had Republican primaries in McHenry County. In Grafton Township:

  • Incumbent Supervisor Linda Moore (387 votes) lost to Pam Fender (516 votes). Martin J. Waitzman tallied 395 votes.
  • Incumbent Assessor William T. Ottley Jr. (522 votes) was beaten by Alan Zielinski (734 votes).
  • Tom Poznanski (753 votes) won the Highway Commissioner nomination over and Richard Dvorak (452 votes).
  • Incumbent Trustee Betty Zirk (749 votes), joined by Carol J. Williams (688 votes) and Robert J. Wagner (789 votes) all won nomination. A write-in winner is needed to fill out the ballot.

In Dorr Township, incumbent trustees Jon Sheahan (100 votes), Mark Andersen (96 votes) and Christian Cantwell (87 votes) were nominated, along with John Fuller (102 votes). Incumbent Joseph Evanoff drew 81 votes.
In Elgin, nine candidates pursued two nominations for a new council seat. Toby Shaw led the field with 428 votes, followed by Craig Dresang with 177 votes. Other candidates were Thomas L. McCarthy (53 votes), Michael K."Big Mike" DeBrocke (102 votes), Jason Dusenberry (101 votes), Chindavanh Keomuongchanh (110 votes), Roy W. Chapman III (28 votes), Daniel W. Schultz (32 votes) and Larry Wegman (91 votes).

In Aurora Township, the Democratic primary saw three races:

  • Incumbent Supervisor Christina Campos (111 votes) lost to William “Bill” Catching (113 votes). Paul Greviskes polled 66 votes.
  • Incumbent Clerk Herbert Hill (106 votes) lost to Ken Christy (163 votes).
  • Incumbent Trustees David W. Moore (167 votes) and Dolores Hicks (177 votes), joined by Rebekah Litfin (127 votes) and Juanita T. Wells (139 votes), won nomination to the four seats. Carmen Cantu (87 votes), Barbara Hernandez (118 votes) and Juan Reyna (103 votes) were the other candidates.

Follow the links for more information on elections in your county.
Boone County: http://www.boonecountyil.org/content/voter-and-election-information

Bureau County: http://bureaucountyclerk.com/ELECTIONS.html

Carroll County:http://www.carroll-county.net/index.asp?Type=B_BASIC&SEC=%7B001FFB74-9846-4774-BCF2-566081E09851%7D

DeKalb County: http://www.votedekalbil.com/#/about-us/

Jo Daviess County: http://www.jodaviess.org/index.asp?Type=B_BASIC&SEC=%7B3DAA2673-44BE-41BA-B4AF-94B575DF38CF%7D

Kane County: http://www.co.kane.il.us/COC/

Kendall County: http://www.co.kendall.il.us/county_clerk/election.htm

LaSalle County: http://www.lasallecounty.org/ctyclerk/

Lee County: http://www.leecountyil.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=28&Itemid=199

McHenry County: http://www.co.mchenry.il.us/departments/countyclerk/Pages/Elections.aspx

Ogle County: http://www.oglecountyclerk.org/

Putnam County: http://www.co.putnam.il.us/county-offices/county-clerk-recorder-office

Stephenson County: http://www.co.stephenson.il.us/clerk/elections.asp

Whiteside County: http://www.whiteside.org/county-clerk/

Winnebago County: http://www.winnebagocountyclerk.com/elections_.asp

Rockford: http://www.voterockford.com/