A new Illinois law changes the type of car seat that young children must be secured in.
The law takes effect Jan. 1st, and requires drivers to secure children younger than two in a rear-facing car seat. This rule is waived if the child is more than 40 inches tall or heavier than 40 pounds.
Illinois State Police Sgt. Jacqueline Cepeda says the law is designed to maximize the chances of survival for babies in an accident. But she notes the new law is an expansion on already existing regulations.
“Children under the age of 8 must also be secured in appropriate child restraint systems and that any person transporting a child under the age of 8 is responsible for properly securing the child," she said.
Violators could face a fine ranging from $75 for a first offense to $200 for subsequent citations.