Mayors Chamberlain, Morrissey, Rey, Gitz: Plus Links To More Election Results

Apr 9, 2013

Rockford Mayor Larry Morrissey thanks supporters at his election victory party.
Credit Susan Stephens / WNIJ

  Mayoral contests were particularly contentious in four northern Illinois cities this election day.

Morrissey wins third term in Rockford

In Rockford, Incumbent Mayor Larry Morrissey, running as an independent, was granted a third term by the city's voters. 

With all 86 precincts reporting, Morrissey took 8,424 votes or 44.0%, followed by  Democrat James Hughes with 7,196 votes for 37.6% , and Republican Michael Kleen at 3,502 votes or 18.3%.

Tight race in Belvidere

Republican Mike Chamberlain is the next mayor of Belvidere, with 1,211 votes -- just six ahead of  independent Mark Sanderson with 1,205 votes.  Independent Edward Marx polled 414 votes, and Democrat  Andrew Racz garnered 406 votes. 

Rey wins four-way race in DeKalb

In DeKalb, Mayor Kris Povlsen did not seek re-election. With all precincts reporting in the non-partisan race, John Rey garnered 1,500 votes or 33.4%, followed by Jennifer Groce with 1,298 votes or 28.9%,  Mike Verbic with 1,088 votes or 24.2%, and David Jacobson with 604 votes or  13.5%.

Gitz returns to Freeport mayor's chair

Freeport Mayor George Gaulrapp was defeated in the primary election: four candidates were in the running for his position in the general election. With all precincts counted, former Mayor Jim Gitz of the Citizens Party totaled 1,827 votes or 37.3%, Jon Carlton Staben of the Peoples Party had 1,756 votes or 35.9%, and independent Kathy Knodle drew 1,124 votes or 22.9%. There were 189 write-in votes for 3.9%.

Election Results Websites

The links below are to websites approved by the County Clerks of the various counties for their election results. Some may require additional clicks to find specific races, issues or results.

WNIJ News provides this list as a public service; vote totals available through these websites are unaudited and, therefore, should be considered "unofficial."

Boone County:

Bureau County:

Carroll County:

DeKalb County:

Jo Daviess County:{E949B4C2-C34A-4BEC-A92B-A409037DD26E}&Type=B_BASIC&persistdesign=none

Kane County:

Aurora Board of Elections:

Kendall County:

LaSalle County:

Lee County:

McHenry County:

Ogle County:

Putnam County:

Stephenson County:

Whiteside County:

Winnebago County: